Celebrating Five Decades of Pacific Influence With Punialava'A

May 21st 2018
Punialava'a to receive Lifetime Achievement Award at 2018 Vodafone Pacific Music Awards

The Manukau Institute of Technology Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to - Punialava'a at the 2018 Vodafone Pacific Music Awards on 24 May.
The group has been creating music for more than 50 years and was formed in the Samoan village Vailele in 1968 by former school teacher Rev. Iosefa Lale Peteru - or Lale as he's known. Together with some friends, he produced hits in the 1970s, finding recognition and support from the Samoan National Broadcasting Service Radio.

In 1980 Lale met his wife Vini nee Sofara, who became the lead singer of the band. Together they won a song writing competition run by the Samoa Health Department about awareness for the disabled.

The two continued to create more music with accomplished musicians such as the late Harry Miller, Danny Lankilde, Paul Pouesi, Agaiotupu Pouesi, Aliimau Jr Scanlan, Bernard Scanlan, Jr Hall, Sam Samia, the Katina Brothers, Rev. Falevi Jr Petana, Tanuvasa Fa'amanatu Solomona and Liston Taefu. They produced hit after hit throughout the 1980s. Later in the 2000's session musicians like Ben Vaai, Hemi Solomona, Tua Kaisara, Josh Mase, Masi Ropati and Ueli Soolefai recorded several successful albums with the group.

Lale and Vini have four children, who all created music careers by picking up the mantle of the band. Viellani is the eldest and started singing for the band in the mid-1990s. Soon after, his younger siblings, Vania and Punialava'a joined the family band. The youngest, Miss Melody, recently became the latest addition to the group.

The sounds of Punialava'a has been established for 50 years so far and inspired many Pacific artists in the music industry - with many well known artists recording and performing their songs. With songs celebrated and appreciated by all age groups, the Punialava'a's music, lyrics and metaphorical messages are authentic and true to the heart of Samoa and Pacific culture.

To celebrate their achievement, the full band will be performing live at the Vodafone Pacific Music Awards at the Vodafone Events Centre in Manukau, Auckland on 24 May. Tickets are available through www.eventfinda.co.nz

2018 Vodafone Pacific Music Awards finalists:

Best Pacific Female Artist Award:
• La Coco - Love & Other Things Part II
• Ladi 6 - Royal Blue 3000 EP
• Razé - 4Seasons

NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist Award:
• General Fiyah - ‘Here To Stay'
• Kings - Chapter One
• Noah Slee - Otherland

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Urban Artist Award:
• 9-5ers - Close To Home
• Noah Slee - Otherland
• SWIDT - Stoneyhunga

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Group Award:
• Sol3 Mio - A Very Merry Christmas
• Three Houses Down - ‘Smile'
• Tomorrow People - ‘Lock Me Up'

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video Award:
• Samson Rambo - ‘Here To Stay' (General Fiyah)
• Noah Slee & Si Jay Gould - ‘Radar' (Noah Slee)
• Olivia Foa'i - ‘Lakalaka' (Te Vaka)

APRA Best Pacific Song Award:
• General Fiyah - ‘Here To Stay' (Written by : Charlie Pome'e & Nicholas Pome'e)
• Tomorrow People - ‘Sa'ili Le Alofa' (Written by Kenape Saupese, Naomi Alatipi,
Honiara Salanoa, Helen Tupai, Avina Kelekolio, Daniel Sugrue, Tana Tupai)
• Te Vaka - ‘Lakalaka' (Written by Opetaia Foa'i/Matatia Foa'i)

SunPix Best Pacific Language Award:
• EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth - Fa'afetai Le Atua
• Te Vaka - ‘Lakalaka'
• Tomorrow People - ‘Sa'ili Le Alofa'

Auckland Council Best Pacific Gospel Artist Award:
• TJ Taotua - 'Special Place'
• EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth - Fa'afetai Le Atua
• Niue Youth Network - NYN Niue Gospel Album

Flava Best International Pacific Artist Award:
• Junior Maile - 'When I'm Gone'/'Golden Touch'
• Tenelle - For the Lovers
• Sam Kiles - ‘Delay'

Recorded Music NZ Best Pacific Music Album Award:
• EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth - Fa'afetai Le Atua
• Ladi 6 - Royal Blue 3000 EP
• Noah Slee - Otherland
• Sol3 Mio - A Very Merry Christmas
• SWIDT - Stoneyhunga

SIT/MAINZ Best Producer Award:
• Anonymouz - The Undisciplined Son EP (Tha Movement)
• Kings - Chapter One (Kings)
• Parks, Brandan Haru & Julien Dyne - Royal Blue 3000 EP (Ladi 6)

Back to Commission News